Introduction To Applied Linguistics (And Pedagogical Grammar): Reference Sources

This Concise Encyclopedia draws its material from the award-winning Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology , and includes updates and revisions not available in the original set. This customized collection of articles provides a handy reference for materials scientists and engineers with an interest in the structure of metals, polymers, ceramics and glasses, biomaterials, wood, paper, and liquid crystals.

The work provides solid coverage in the fundamental theoretical aspects of the subject, with carefully planned cross-linking and structuring to give the user the potential to gain a solid grounding in the theoretical aspects of quantum mechanics, mechanics, electrodynamics, relativity, statistical mechanics, and elementary particiles that form the core physics background for the field. These core areas form the background for coverage of such areas as crystallography, transport phenomena, various theoretical models (electronic, band structure, materials property models, etc), and physical properties of materials (electrical, magnetic, optical, thermal, etc). Coverage of experimental techniques will include, among others, the full range of scattering, microscopy, and spectroscopy techniques.

The original edition of Introduction to Nuclear and Particle Physics was used with great success for single-semester courses on nuclear and particle physics offered by American and Canadian universities at the undergraduate level. It was also translated into German, and used overseas. Being less formal but well-written, this book is a good vehicle for learning the more intuitive rather than formal aspects of the subject. It is therefore of value to scientists with a minimal background in quantum mechanics, but is sufficiently substantive to have been recommended for graduate students interested in the fields covered in the text.

The Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy provides a lexicon of terminology covering fields such as astronomy, astrophysics, cosmology, relativity, geophysics, meteorology, Newtonian physics, and oceanography. Authors and editors often assume - incorrectly - that readers are familiar with all the terms in professional literature. With over 4,000 definitions and 50 contributing authors, this unique comprehensive dictionary helps scientists to use terminology correctly and to understand papers, articles, and books in which physics-related terms appear.

Physically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations on Physics and Astronomy provides the largest published collection of quotations pertaining to physics and astronomy. Some quotes are profound, others are wise, some are witty but none are frivolous. Here you will find quotations from the most famous to the unknown. The extensive author and subject indexes provide you with the perfect tool for locating quotations for practical use or pleasure, and you will soon enjoy discovering what others have said on topics ranging from anti-matter to x-rays.This book can be read for pleasure or used as a handy reference by students, scientific readers, and the more general reader who is interested in who has said what on physics and astronomy.

This is a two-year elementary college physics course for students majoring in science and engineering. The intention of the writers has been to present elementary physics as far as possible in the way in which it is used by physicists working on the forefront of their field. We have sought to make a course that would vigorously emphasize the foundations of physics. Our specific objectives were to introduce coherently into an elementary curriculum the ideas of special relativity, of quantum physics, and of statistical physics.