Functional English (FEN 601): Online Reference Sources

Encyclopedia.com is a free online resource that provides reliable reference entries from trusted publishers. It covers a wide range of subjects including history, science, literature, law, and more.

Britannica (Encyclopaedia Britannica) is a long-established, highly trusted reference work offering authoritative articles across all major fields of knowledge.

Phrases.org.uk – offers an extensive collection of English idioms, phrases, and sayings, explaining what they mean and often tracing their historical origins.

YourDictionary.com provides clear and reliable definitions, synonyms, usage examples, and grammar guidance, drawing from a variety of authoritative dictionary and language resources.

Dictionary.com is a leading online English language reference site offering definitions, pronunciations, etymologies (word origins), synonyms, example sentences, and usage notes.

Thesaurus.com is a trusted online thesaurus that helps users find synonyms, antonyms, and related words to improve their vocabulary and writing.

Oxford Learner’s Dictionaries is a reliable resource designed especially for learners of English. It provides easy-to-understand definitions, example sentences, word origins,

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the most comprehensive record of the English language, tracing the history, meaning, and evolution of over 600,000 words.

The Cambridge Dictionary is a trusted online reference that provides clear, accurate, and up-to-date definitions of English words and phrases.

Merriam-Webster Dictionary is one of the most authoritative and widely used American English dictionaries. It provides clear word definitions, pronunciations, synonyms, antonyms, usage examples, and word origins.

A thesaurus is a reference tool that provides synonyms (words with similar meanings) and antonyms (words with opposite meanings) to help users expand their vocabulary and improve their writing. Unlike a dictionary, which focuses on definitions, a thesaurus helps users find alternative words to express their ideas more precisely or creatively.