LibGuides: Critical Reading and Academic Writing (Expository Writing III) (GE-211): Online resources

Dictionaries and Thesauruses

Cambridge dictionary
The Cambridge Dictionary is a well-known online and print dictionary published by Cambridge University Press. It provides definitions, pronunciations, translations, and examples for English words and phrases. It is widely used by learners and professionals for its clear, easy-to-understand explanations and its focus on British and American English variations.
Oxford Learner's Dictionaries
Oxford Learner's Dictionaries is a collection of online and print dictionaries published by Oxford University Press (OUP), designed specifically for learners of English. These dictionaries provide clear definitions, example sentences, pronunciation guides (both British and American English), and usage notes to help learners understand and use English effectively.
Thesaurus
A thesaurus is a reference tool that provides synonyms (words with similar meanings) and antonyms (words with opposite meanings) to help users expand their vocabulary and improve their writing. Unlike a dictionary, which focuses on definitions, a thesaurus helps users find alternative words to express their ideas more precisely or creatively.
Merriam-Webster
Merriam-Webster is a well-known American publisher of dictionaries and language reference books. It is best known for the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, which provides comprehensive definitions, pronunciations, word origins, and usage examples.

Using English for Academic Purposes
Using English for Academic Purposes (EAP) refers to the study and use of English in academic settings, such as universities and research institutions. It focuses on developing the language skills needed for academic reading, writing, listening, and speaking.
Academic English Online
Academic English Online refers to digital resources, courses, and tools designed to help students and professionals improve their academic English skills. These platforms provide lessons, exercises, and interactive activities focused on reading, writing, listening, and speaking in academic contexts
Prepare for Success
Prepare for Success is an online learning resource designed to help international students develop the academic English and study skills needed for success in a UK university environment. It provides interactive activities, guidance, and tips on key aspects of academic life.

DOAB
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Springer Link
Access to 3405 full text journals from computer science, mathematics, engineering, geosciences.
Taylors & Francis
Taylor & Francis have been publishing academic research since 1798 and on an open access basis since 2006.
Wiley Online Library
Wiley-Inter science is an STM (Science, technology, and Medicine) and SSH (Social Sciences and Humanities) publisher. Introduced in 1997, Wiley Inter Science is a leading international resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly content. In June 2008.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before. More generally, by digitizing content to high standards and supporting its long-term preservation, we also aim to help libraries and publishers of scholarly content transition their collections and publishing activities from print to digital operations. Our aim is to expand access to scholarly content around the world and to preserve it for future generations. We provide access to some or all of the content free-of-charge when we believe we can do so and still meet our long-term obligations.

BBC Learning English
BBC Learning English is a free online platform that provides high-quality resources for learning and improving English. It is produced by the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) and offers lessons for learners at different levels, from beginners to advanced speakers.
Breaking News English
Breaking News English is an online resource that provides news-based English lessons for learners of all levels. It was created by Sean Banville and features up-to-date news articles adapted for English learning.
CNN
CNN (Cable News Network) is a major American news organization that provides 24-hour global news coverage across television, digital, and social media platforms. It was founded in 1980 and is known for its breaking news, investigative journalism, and in-depth analysis of current events.
British Council Learning Hub
The British Council Learning Hub is an online platform designed to help learners improve their English skills through interactive courses, activities, and resources. It is part of the British Council's global English learning programs, which support students, teachers, and professionals.