Research Methods: Data Analysis (ENG -421): Online resources

Using English for Academic Purposes (EAP) refers to the study and use of English in academic settings, such as universities and research institutions. It focuses on developing the language skills needed for academic reading, writing, listening, and speaking.

Academic English Online refers to digital resources, courses, and tools designed to help students and professionals improve their academic English skills. These platforms provide lessons, exercises, and interactive activities focused on reading, writing, listening, and speaking in academic contexts

Prepare for Success is an online learning resource designed to help international students develop the academic English and study skills needed for success in a UK university environment. It provides interactive activities, guidance, and tips on key aspects of academic life.

Edited by Gabriele Griffin
Series: Research Methods for the Arts and Humanities
Copyright Date: 2013
Edition: 2
Published by: Edinburgh University Press

Journal of World Languages (ISSN: 2169-8252, e-ISSN: 2169-8260) is an international, peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal that explores the roles, functions and structures of languages in the world. Special attention is given to studies of languages in the fields of ecolinguistics (including the Haugenian Tradition and the Hallidayan Tradition), systemic functional linguistics, critical/positive/multimodal/ecological discourse analysis, sociolinguistics, cognitive linguistics, corpus linguistics, pragmatics, linguistic typology, linguistic anthropology and philosophy of language

Action Research is an international, interdisciplinary, peer reviewed, quarterly published refereed journal which is a forum for the development of the theory and practice of action research. The journal publishes quality articles on accounts of action research projects

Research Methods in Applied Linguistics is the first and only journal devoted exclusively to research methods in applied linguistics, a discipline that explores real-world language-related issues and phenomena

DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

Access to 3405 full text journals from computer science, mathematics, engineering, geosciences.

Taylor & Francis have been publishing academic research since 1798 and on an open access basis since 2006.

Wiley-Inter science is an STM (Science, technology, and Medicine) and SSH (Social Sciences and Humanities) publisher. Introduced in 1997, Wiley Inter Science is a leading international resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly content. In June 2008.

JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before. More generally, by digitizing content to high standards and supporting its long-term preservation, we also aim to help libraries and publishers of scholarly content transition their collections and publishing activities from print to digital operations. Our aim is to expand access to scholarly content around the world and to preserve it for future generations. We provide access to some or all of the content free-of-charge when we believe we can do so and still meet our long-term obligations.

IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is a globally recognized English proficiency test designed for study, work, and migration. It assesses a candidate’s ability to communicate in English across four key skills: Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking.

Key Features of IELTS:
Two Test Types:
IELTS Academic – For university admission and professional registration.
IELTS General Training – For migration and work purposes.
Band Score System: Ranges from 0 to 9, with higher scores indicating greater proficiency.
Test Format:
Listening (30 minutes) – Four recorded conversations and monologues.
Reading (60 minutes) – Three passages with comprehension tasks.
Writing (60 minutes) – Two tasks: a report/essay for Academic or a letter/essay for General.
Speaking (11–14 minutes) – A face-to-face interview with an examiner.
Accepted Worldwide: Recognized by 10,000+ institutions in over 140 countries.
Available Online & On Paper: Tests can be taken at authorized centers or online in some locations.

BBC Learning English is a free online platform that provides high-quality resources for learning and improving English. It is produced by the BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) and offers lessons for learners at different levels, from beginners to advanced speakers.

Breaking News English is an online resource that provides news-based English lessons for learners of all levels. It was created by Sean Banville and features up-to-date news articles adapted for English learning.

CNN (Cable News Network) is a major American news organization that provides 24-hour global news coverage across television, digital, and social media platforms. It was founded in 1980 and is known for its breaking news, investigative journalism, and in-depth analysis of current events.

The British Council Learning Hub is an online platform designed to help learners improve their English skills through interactive courses, activities, and resources. It is part of the British Council's global English learning programs, which support students, teachers, and professionals.