Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Databases: Course Outline

Enable students to comprehend and practice both the system level and application level of database issues

Lab Topics

  • Writing SQL SELECT Statements, Restricting and Sorting Data, Using Single-Row Functions to Customize Output
  • Reporting Aggregated Data Using the Group Functions, Displaying Data from Multiple Tables, Using Sub queries to Solve Queries
  • Using the SET Operators, Manipulating Data, Using DDL Statements to Create and Manage Tables
  • Creating Other Schema Objects,  Controlling User Access
  • Generating Reports by Grouping Related Data
  • Searching Data Using Advanced Sub queries

Topics

  • Introduction: File-Based Systems, Problems with File-Based Approach, Database Approach, Advantages and Disadvantages of DBMS, Roles in the Database Environment
  • Relational Model: Brief History, Terminology, Relational Integrity: Nulls, Entity Integrity, Referential Integrity, Enterprise Constraints
  • Relational Algebra: Relational Algebra operations; Selection, Projection, Cartesian Product, Union, Intersection, Set Difference, Natural Join, Theta Joins, Outer Joins, and Semi Join
  • Structured Query Language: Data Manipulation Language, Data Definition Language
  • Database Design: Conceptual Database Design, Entity-Relationship (ER) Modeling; Entity Types, Attributes, and Relationship Types, Structural Constraints, Problems with ER Models
  • Normalization: Functional Dependencies, The Process of Normalization: 1NF; 2NF; 3NF 
  • Transaction Management: Introduction, Properties Of Transactions, Need For Concurrency Control, Concurrency Control Techniques, Locking Methods, Deadlock Detection And Prevention, Database Failures and Recoveries
  • Query Optimization: Objectives of Query processing and optimization, Static vs dynamic query optimization, Relational Algebra Trees, Evaluating Size and Cost of Relational Algebra Operations, Pipelining vs Materialization
  • Semi structured data models: Introduction to OLAP (Online Analytical Processing)
  • NoSQL Overview and Motivation

Text Books

E-Books (Full Text)