Skip to Main Content

Database Systems: Course Outline

Computer Sciences

database System

A database is a collection of inter-related data which helps in the efficient retrieval, insertion, and deletion of data from the database and organizes the data in the form of tables, views, schemas, reports, etc. For Example, a university database organizes the data about students, faculty, admin staff, etc. which helps in the efficient retrieval, insertion, and deletion of data from it.

Course Content

Basic database concepts

  • Database approach vs file based system
  •  Database architecture, three level schema architecture,
  • Data independence, relational data model, attributes, schemas, tuples, domains, relation instances, keys of relations, integrity constraints, relational algebra, selection, projection, Cartesian product, types of joins, normalization, functional dependencies, normal forms, entity relationship model, entity sets, attributes, relationship, entity-relationship diagrams,
  • Structured Query Language (SQL), Joins and sub-queries in SQL, Grouping and aggregation in SQL, concurrency control,
  • Database backup and recovery, indexes, NoSQL systems.

Course Assessment

  • Sessional Exam
  • Home Assignments
  • Quizzes, Project
  • Presentations
  • Final Exam

Teaching Methodology

  • Lectures
  • Written Assignments
  • Practical labs
  • Semester Project
  • Presentations

Course Learning Outcomes (CLOs)

At the end of the course the students will be able to:

  • Explain fundamental database concepts.
  • Design conceptual, logical and physical database schemas using different data models.
  • Identify functional dependencies and resolve database anomalies by normalizing database tables.
  • Use Structured Query Language (SQL) for database definition and manipulation in any DBMS.

Reference Materials