American Literature: Databases

Wiley-Interscience is an STM (Science, technology, and Medicine) and SSH (Social Sciences and Humanities) publisher. Introduced in 1997, Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly content. In June 2008,

Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS)
INFORMS publishes 11 scholarly journals, including a journal for the practice of OR/MS (Interfaces), as well as an on-line open access journal (INFORMS Transactions on Education).

Springer Link
For the first time, Springer’s Ebooks are available on perpetual access i.e. fully downloadable. These books cover a wide range of disciplines published during 2005-2007. These books are available for all public/private universities recognized by HEC.

Taylor & Francis have been publishing academic research since 1798 and on an open access basis since 2006. We offer a broad range of author options, enabling authors to publish their material in quality open access journals with a high degree of peer review integrity

ACM Digital Library
Freely searchable after a fairly painless registration. “As a service to the computing community, the Digital Library will continue to offer its search and bibliographic database resources to all visitors, for free. All you need to do is register with us.”

BOPCRIS
“You can use this web site to search and browse information from British Official Publications over the period 1688-1995. You can also read abstracts, and view detailed consistent subject indexing, of key documents. You can then read the digitised full-text version of a limited number of these documents.”

“A team of librarians and library staff monitors information technology literature in both print and digital forms, each month selecting only the best items to annotate for a free publication. The resulting issue of 10-20 annotated citations of current literature is emailed to a mailing list and is redistributed on other electronic fora. The individual citations are also individually indexed so that you can dynamically create your own Bibliography On-Demand. The items that are freely available on the Internet are also retrieved and indexed so that you can perform an Article Search of the full-text of these items.”

A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access)

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Provides access to records of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. It includes preprints, as well as articles, books, proceedings, lectures, photographs, and more - including the full text of many items.