LibGuides: English for specific Purposes: E-references

Welcome to Reference Resources

Reference sources are great resources to use as you get started on your topic. They are not intended to be read cover-to-cover, but rather provide you with more concise information as you begin to explore a topic. Reference sources generally provide:

Background information about a topic.
Brief, factual overviews of topics.
Information about important dates, events, and people associated with a topic.
Terminology and definitions of terms related to a topic
Articles written by authors with expertise in the subject matter
Bibliographies of sources for further reading.

Find below variety of Reference Resources!

Dictionaries, Thesauri

Oxford English Dictionary
The OED is the definitive record of the English language, featuring 600,000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1,000 years of English.
Cambridge English
Online access to Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary and some other dictionaries published by Cambridge University Press.
Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary and Thesaurus
Large general dictionary available online.The Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary is based on the print version of Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary, Eleventh Edition. The online dictionary includes the main A-Z listing of the Collegiate Dictionary, as well as the Abbreviations, Foreign Words and Phrases, Biographical Names, and Geographical Names sections of that book.
Thesaurus.com
The thesaurus that appears on this site is Roget’s II:The New Thesaurus. Thesaurus.com is produced by Dictionary.com. To use the thesaurus, simply type a word in the gold search box and click the 'Search' button. A list of synonyms and antonyms will be returned.

Encyclopedia

Britannica Online Academic Edition
Online version of the Encyclopaedia Brittanica. Use this powerful resource to search or browse for information in encyclopedias, magazines, videos, and Web sites.
Highbeam Encyclopedia
Searches a collection of free encyclopedias and other reference works on the internet. HighBeam Encyclopedia provides current and archived articles from more than 3,500 credible reference works and publications, including newspapers, journals, and magazines. Searching our site allows you to find the exact article you’re searching for in our online research archive of more than 60 million Web articles. This article archive search is perfect for students looking for homework help, educators wanting to keep up with current information, and businesspeople looking to gain an edge.

Google Map

Google Map
Browse to maps.google.com and type in the name and location of your business. Click on the link for your business from the list on the right and then click "Upload Photo." Browse to the location of the logo on your computer, then click "Open." Click "Upload" to send the picture in to Google.