Mendeley is a free reference manager that can help you store, organize, note, share, and cite references and research data:
Automatically generate bibliographies
Collaborate easily with other researchers online
Easily import papers from other research software
Find relevant papers based on what you're reading
Access your papers from anywhere online
Online Reference Works offer a rich compendium of knowledge for students, researchers, and clinicians.
Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint
IBM SPSS Statistics is the world’s leading statistical software used to solve business and research problems using ad-hoc analysis, hypothesis testing, and predictive analytics
Turnitin is a product that can analyze the content of student assignments for exact or close matches to material found on the web, in scholarly and popular articles and books, and other students' essays.
More than just a reference manager. EndNote moves you through the
research process as you search, organize, write, publish, and share.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools,
such as sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks,
and a quick citation guide.
EndNote and Reference Manager are both quality reference
management solutions, used by thousands of researchers
around the world. Endnote, known for its advanced management and bibliography creation tools,
NVivo is a platform for analyzing unstructured data. It helps you to organize, explore, and share your work easily and quickly. Whatever your materials,
Vancouver style (also referred to as ICMJE and Uniform Requirements Style) is a citation style used heavily in the health and biomedical sciences. Vancouver style uses a number to mark in-text citations, and the reference list is in numerical order according to the order in which the reference appears in the paper.
Vancouver (also known as Uniform Requirements or ICMJE)
Vancouver style (also referred to as ICMJE and Uniform Requirements Style) is a citation style used heavily in the health and biomedical sciences. Vancouver style uses a number to mark in-text citations, and the reference list is in numerical order according to the order in which the reference appears in the paper.
Vancouver Style Guides
Authoritative quick reference guide that contains examples of most types of references.
Quick reference guide with labeled parts of each example citation.
Introductory information as well as quick reference examples.
Citing Medicine, 2nd Edition (Online)
The full, in-depth guide to citing references in Vancouver style.
AMA (American Medical Association)
AMA style, by the American Medical Association, is based on the Vancouver style. In addition to providing information on how to cite, it is a complete style guide for writing.
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors (Online)
Includes guidelines for writing and formatting papers and citing sources.
Particular referencing styles are preferred by particular academic disciplines because they work better with the kind of texts that are most commonly used in that discipline. This page includes brief details of each style of referencing used by different departments at Reading. You should always check your course handbook to see which is their preferred style. Remember that if you are studying modules in different departments or schools, they may each prefer a different referencing style.
APA referencing is a variant of the Harvard style. Many of the conventions are the same, with brief author-date citations in brackets in the body of the text and full citations in the reference list. It is usual to include a reference list only rather than a bibliography in APA style. Citations for websites are also slightly different, with no need to include an access or retrieval date unless the page content is likely to change over time.
Sources for more information
7th edition guidance
A new version of the APA style was published in 2019. Departments will gradually switch to this version - check your course handbook.
APA 7th edition differs significantly from APA 6th edition and other Harvard styles in that the place of publication is usually omitted from the reference.
Call Number: 808.06615-AME
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2019
Summary by UoR Academic Liaison Librarians
Gives a good overview of the main elements of the APA style.
It is a useful tool to help you construct accurate references.
Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA Style
6th edition guidance
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: 808.06615-AME
ISBN: 9781433805615
Publication Date: 2010
Links to a searchable blog with answers to lots of queries on APA referencing.
