Child development involves the biological, psychological and emotional changes that occur in human beings between birth and the conclusion of adolescence. It is—particularly from birth to five years— a foundation for a prosperous and sustainable society
For the first time, Springer’s Ebooks are available on perpetual access i.e. fully downloadable. These books cover a wide range of disciplines published during 2005-2007. These books are available for all public/private universities recognized by HEC.
Emerald database has a collection of scholarly journals related to business, management, economics, marketing, and finance. Researchers, educators, and students
JSTOR is a shared digital library created in 1995 to help university and college libraries to free space on their shelves, save costs, and provide greater levels of access to more content than ever before. More generally, by digitizing content to high standards and supporting its long-term preservation, we also aim to help libraries and
publishers of scholarly content transition their collections and publishing activities from print to digital operations. Our aim is to expand access to scholarly content around the world and to preserve it for future generations. We provide access to some or all of the content free-of-charge when we believe we can do so and still meet our long-term obligations.
JSTOR currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. We have digitized more than 50 million pages and continue to digitize approximately 3 million pages annually. Our activities, our fee structure, and the way we manage the service and its resources reflect our historical commitment to serve colleges and universities as a trusted digital archive, and our responsibility to publishers as stewards of their content. This underlying philosophy at JSTOR remains the core of our service even as we continue to seek ways to expand access to people beyond academic institutions.
Taylor & Francis have been publishing academic research since 1798 and on an open access basis since 2006. We offer a broad range of author options, enabling authors to publish their material in quality open access journals with a high degree of peer review integrity
Short Name: Pak J Orthodont Ped and Comm
Dentistry
Published From:Lahore
Address: Executive Director
73-A, Rewaz Garden, Lahore-54000
Mobile: 0303-7557105, 0300-4112241
Fax: +92 42 7247257
Email Address: [email protected]
The Society was established in 1994 and is an organization of volunteers from all walks of life, who have dedicated themselves to achieve the following goals:
Aims & Objectives
Create Awareness through Genetic Counseling, International Conferences, Seminars, Workshops, Brochures, Leaflets, Posters, Lectures to target audiences at college level and also involving the Print and Electronic Media to create awareness about this cause.
Aims & Objectives
Create Awareness through Genetic Counseling, International Conferences, Seminars, Workshops, Brochures, Leaflets, Posters, Lectures to target audiences at college level and also involving the Print and Electronic Media to create awareness about this cause.
Prevention is better than cure which is why the society screens the carriers by simple blood test and also offers the facility of Prenatal diagnosis to the pregnant mother determine whether the baby is Thalassaemic or Normal. The Society is a pioneer in this field and was the first to carry out Prenatal Diagnosis for Thalassaemia in Pakistan.
One of the principal Goals of the Society is the treatment of Thalassaemic children The Society has established a Thalassaemia Center in Peadiatric Department at Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, Lahore where Thalassaemic children are given the following treatments free of cost:
The body of a Thalassaemic cannot produce red blood cells, which means a blood transfusion is required every 3-4 weeks. The Society collects, screens and transfuses blood to patients coming to the Thalassaemia Center.
Due to repeated blood transfusions iron gets accumulated in the body. This excess iron must be removed from the body. The Thalassaemia center does this by using 'Desferal' injection given through a chelation pump. Each injection is administered in 8 hours and must be given 20 days a month. These patients are also given treatment for other Thalassaemia related complications such as splenectomy, infections, reactions, etc.
Thalassaemia is a disease, which not only effects the patient but also leaves a devastating psycho-social effect on the family of the patient. The society also organises a Patient Support Group to help the families of patients pull through this traumatic experience.
is to support and fund thalassemia scientific research, treatment, patient services, public awareness and education.
The Thalassemia Foundation was founded in 1982 by Angela Polsinelli, the parent of a patient, with the help of a few other parents and patients. It was created because there was a large number of thalassemia patients in the Toronto area, but there was no structured association available. Dr. Freedman asked Angela if she would start an organization, and she agreed. The Cooley’s Anemia Foundation in New York City was instrumental in teaching Angela the ropes in regards to setting up an organization in Ontario.
The original name for the Foundation was the Ontario Thalassemia Association. The Association made its own guidelines and objectives. It became legally incorporated on December 13, 1988, under the name Ontario Thalassemia Foundation.
On May 10, 1999, the Foundation’s name was changed to the Thalassemia Foundation of Canada to better reflect its Canada-wide membership and the work it does on behalf of thalassemia patients at a national level. The Foundation communicates with the thalassemia associations in Quebec and British Columbia and has connected with patients in Alberta, Manitoba and Nova Scotia.
The Thalassemia Foundation originally began as a support group for parents and patients. Its organizers wanted to teach parents how to administer Desferal to their kids. For young adults, the Foundation would allow patients to support one another. As the Foundation gathered more members, it was able to start fundraising, causing its focus to broaden. It became possible for the Foundation to gather money for research, and meeting the financial needs of patients, by providing Desferal pumps to those in greatest need.
The Foundation has been very successful so far. Over the years, the Thalassemia Foundation of Canada has grown to become a national organization and is now able to devote nearly one hundred thousand dollars per year to medical grants for research. Each year in February, the Thalassemia Foundation of Canada hosts an annual Valentine’s Dinner and Dance Fundraiser. This event is held to raise awareness and much-needed funds for the Thalassemia Foundation of Canada. The funds raised are completely dedicated to education, research, and provide necessary support for patients suffering from thalassemia in Canada. Funds collected by the Thalassemia Foundation of Canada have made it possible for funding grants to be endowed for scientific research in the field of hemoglobinopathies and thalassemia.
It has also established a distinguished medical advisory committee headed by Dr. Douglas Templeton with the University of Toronto, and has become a member of Thalassaemia International Federation (TIF). It has been invited to sit on many Canadian committees and members have been invited to present at numerous national and international conferences.
halassaemia International Federation (TIF) has developed an internationally-recognised educational programme, with the objective to continuously educate health professionals, patients and their families, the community at large and policy-makers, based on four pillars:
The organisation of educational events including conferences, workshops and seminars at the national, regional and international level;
The preparation, translation and distribution of publications;
The preparation, organisation and contribution in courses, e.g., e-MSc Course and ENERCA, and;
The preparation and organisation of educational courses for patients and parents, e.g., the Expert Patients' Programme and Capacity Building
About us
Beta Thalassaemia is one of the most commonly inherited disorders in the country, with a prevalence rate of 6 % in the Pakistani population. There are more than 50,000 Thalassaemia patients registered with associations and treatment centers all over the country. Forty six associations of Pakistan have joined hands and formed a Federation by the name of Thalassaemia Federation of Pakistan.
The purpose of establishing Thalassaemia Federation of Pakistan has been to support the various associations nationwide which work for the cause of treatment and prevention of Thalassaemia. We provide a platform that unites the associations so that free exchange of information and experience takes place- which helps in forming a collective forum against
Thalassaemia. The aim of the Federation is to provide the associations with any assistance they need to provide all the required support including treatment and prevention services to Thalassaemics and their families.
Established in 1986, Thalassemics India was conceived to check and help deal with Thalassemia. A non-governmental organization, Thalassemics India is working zealously across the country, operating in close association with doctors, drug/equipment companies throughout the country and abroad, hospitals, Thalassemia associations & thalassemia centers.
An association which was formed by a few Thalassemia parents in 1986, has now achieved the status of a State Awardee (1998) Organization with a 1200 strong memberships that includes thalassemics, thalassemia parents, associations, doctors & social workers.
Thalassemics India is a voting member of Thalassemia International Federation , an international body based in Cyprus.. Among some of the main achievements of the association since its inception are the establishment of the Thalassemia centers in two hospitals of Delhi. Organization of 5 successful International Conferences & Workshops, holding of free Thalassemia clinics, collection of medicines/equipments for free distribution, organization of free Thalassemia detection camps, collection of funds from India & abroad to help the underprivileged thalassemic patients towards their treatment & collaborating closely with important offices & departments at the state and central level for achieving the goals.
