It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physiology for BDS: E-Resources
The major objective is not to make dental students physiologist but certainly to encourage them to think "physiologically" when, in future practice, patients will be subjected to a wide variety of drugs, such as local anesthetics and antibiotics that affe
Experimental Physiology publishes research papers that report novel insights into homeostatic and adaptive responses in health and pathophysiological mechanisms in disease. We welcome papers that embrace the journal’s orientation of translation and integration, which includes studies of the adaptive responses to exercise, acute and chronic environmental challenges, growth and aging, and diseases where integrative homeostatic mechanisms play a key role in the response to and evolution of the disease process. Examples of such diseases include hypertension, heart failure, hypoxic lung disease, endocrine and neurological disorders. Manuscripts that report the use of bioinformatic, genomic, molecular, proteomic and cellular techniques to provide novel insights into integrative physiological and pathophysiological mechanisms are welcomed.
The Journal of Physiology publishes original Research Papers in all areas of physiology illustrating new physiological principles or mechanisms. Papers on work at the molecular level, at the level of the cell membrane, single cells, tissues or organs and systems physiology are all considered, with an emphasis on human and mammalian physiology.
Physiological Reports is an online only, open access journal that will publish peer reviewed research across all areas of basic, translational, and clinical physiology and allied disciplines. Physiological Reports is a collaboration between The Physiological Society and the American Physiological Society, and is therefore in a unique position to serve the international physiology community through quick time to publication while upholding a quality standard of sound research that constitutes a useful contribution to the field.
Extreme Physiology & Medicine is a peer-reviewed open access journal focussing on integrative human physiology under conditions of physiological stress, including that exerted by extreme environments, exercise and certain clinical conditions.
This international scientific journal publishes theoretical and empirical studies which explore and examine all aspects of adaptive human behavior. A sampling of the topics covered includes cooperation, affiliation and bonding, competition and aggression, sex and relationships, parenting and decision-making, and many more. The editors place an emphasis on studies that also address the biological mechanisms that control behavior, including neural, endocrine, immune, cardiovascular and genetic processes and others. The coverage encompasses a broad range of disciplines
BMC Physiology is an open access journal publishing original peer-reviewed research articles in cellular, tissue-level, organismal, functional, and developmental aspects of physiological processes.
BMC Physiology is part of the BMC series which publishes subject-specific journals focused on the needs of individual research communities across all areas of biology and medicine. We offer an efficient, fair and friendly peer review service, and are committed to publishing all sound science, provided that there is some advance in knowledge presented by the work.
With a focus on human integrative and translational physiology, the European Journal of Applied Physiology publishes original research that is considered likely to further our understanding of the functioning of the intact healthy human body under a variety of environmental (e.g. altitude, climatic, gravitational) and exercise conditions. Contexts include those relating to occupational, sporting, recreational and daily activities throughout the human life-span from childhood to old age.
journals in science, technical and medical (STM) publishing. Springer also hosts a number of scientific databases, including SpringerLink, Springer Protocols, and SpringerImages. Book publications include major reference works, textbooks, monographs and book series; more than 168,000 titles are available as e-books in 24 subject collections.
PMC is a collection of medical journals. it is a collaborative effort between NLM, the publishers whose journal content makes up the PMC archive, and organizations in other countries that share NLM’s interest in archiving life sciences literature.
Publisher of more than 160 peer-reviewed focus on medical related subjects, open access journals, The research articles in all journals published by BioMed Central are ‘Open Access’. They are immediately and permanently available online.
McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. Authoritative, trusted, and continuously updated with optimized content for any mobile device, AccessMedicine is guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes three of the medical field’s top academic experts, Mark A. Graber, MD; Diane Levine, MD; and Anderson Spickard, III, MD.
AccessMedicine provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; enables faculty to create, track, and report their students’ progress through a curriculum tool that eases workflow; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
Access Science is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. With these and other online features,
Wiley-Interscience is an STM (Science, technology, and Medicine) and SSH (Social Sciences and Humanities) publisher. Introduced in 1997, Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for scientific, technical, medical and scholarly content.
In June 2008, Wiley InterScience incorporated the online content formerly hosted on Blackwell Synergy to provide access across 1,234 journals in science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences.
The purpose of this journal is to promote the integration of theories, methods, and research in human physiology. The journal publishes original studies on brain function and its disturbances, including neural mechanisms subserving perception, learning, memory, emotion, and language. Human Physiology provides a forum for many physiological areas, such as respiration, circulation, the blood system, motor functions, and digestion, as well as sport and occupational physiology. All kinds of papers on environmental physiology, including adaptation to extreme (polar zone, desert) and new (space) external conditions, are encouraged. Each year, from one to three numbers of the journal are dedicated to the broad consideration of a selected problem (e.g., mechanisms of adaptation to natural factors or development of the brain functions of children).
The Journal of Physiological Sciences publishes peer-reviewed original papers, reviews, short communications, technical notes, and letters to the editor, based on the principles and theories of modern physiology and addressed to the international scientific community. Coverage reaches all fields of physiology, encompassing molecular, cellular and systems physiology.
The topics presented include adaptation and environment; autonomic nervous function; biophysics; cell sensors and signaling; Central nervous system and brain sciences; Endocrinology and metabolism; Excitable membranes and neural cell physiology; Exercise physiology; Gastrointestinal and kidney physiology; Heart and circulatory physiology; Molecular and cellular physiology; Muscle physiology; Physiome/systems biology; Respiration physiology; and Senses.
Clinical Physiology and Functional Imaging publishes reports on clinical and experimental research pertinent to human physiology in health and disease. The scope of the Journal is very broad, covering all aspects of the regulatory system in the cardiovascular, renal and pulmonary systems with special emphasis on methodological aspects. The Journal also features review articles on recent front-line research within these fields of interest.
Covered by the major abstracting services including Current Contents and Science Citation Index, Clinical Physiology and Functional Imaging plays an important role in providing effective and productive communication among clinical physiologists world-wide.
Archives of Insect Biochemistry and Physiology is an international journal that publishes articles in English that are of interest to insect biochemists and physiologists. Generally these articles will be in, or related to, one of the following subject areas: Endocrinology, Development, Neurobiology, Behavior, Pharmacology, Nutrition, Carbohydrates, Lipids, Enzymes, Proteins, Peptides, Nucleic Acids, Molecular Biology, Toxicology. ARCHIVES will publish only original articles. Articles that are confirmatory in nature or deal with analytical methods previously described will not be accepted.
The Journal of Comparative Physiology B publishes peer-reviewed original articles and reviews on the comparative physiology of invertebrate and vertebrate animals. Special emphasis is placed on integrative studies that elucidate mechanisms at the whole-animal, organ, tissue, cellular and/or molecular levels. Review papers report on the current state of knowledge in an area of comparative physiology, and directions in which future research is needed.
Aspects of particular interest include: molecular and endocrine control of metabolism; membrane transport and nutrient absorption; respiration and gas exchange; circulation and body fluids; energy and temperature relations; muscle and exercise physiology; energetics and endocrinology of reproduction; evolutionary aspects of physiology.