LibGuides: Research Methods: Research Tools

Tools

Endnote
More than just a reference manager. EndNote moves you through the research process as you search, organize, write, publish and share.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online
The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample correspondence, proofreaders’ marks, and a quick guide to citation.
Reference Manager
EndNote and Reference Manager are both quality reference management solutions, used by thousands of researchers around the world. Endnote, known for its advanced reference management and bibliography creation tools,
more...less...
and Reference Manager for its reference sharing capabilities.
Nvivo
NVivo is a platform for analysing unstructured data. It helps you to organise, explore and share your work easily and quickly.
Whatever your materials,
more...less...
whatever your field, whatever your approach, NVivo provides a workspace to help you at every stage of your project - from organising your material, through to analysis, and then sharing and reporting.

With NVivo you can deeply analyse your data using powerful search, query and visualisation tools. Uncover subtle connections, add your insights and ideas as you work, rigorously justify findings, and effortlessly share your work.
Cite U Like
citeulike is a free service for managing and discovering scholarly references

Tools

Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Make your own fully-searchable library in seconds, cite as you write, and read and your PDFs on any device.
more...less...
Showcase your work and assess the impact of your research.
Online Reference Works
Online Reference Works offer a rich compendium of knowledge for students, researchers and clinicians.
Zotero
Zotero is the only research tool that automatically senses content in your web browser, allowing you to add it to your personal library with a single click. Whether you're searching for a preprint
more...less...
on arXiv.org, a journal article from JSTOR, a news story from the New York Times, or a book from your university library catalog, Zotero has you covered with support for thousands of sites.Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, and really anything else. Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.
SPSS
IBM SPSS Statistics is the world’s leading statistical software used to solve business and research problems by means of ad-hoc analysis, hypothesis testing, and predictive analytics.
more...less...
Organizations use IBM SPSS Statistics to understand data, analyze trends, forecast and plan to validate assumptions and drive accurate conclusions.
Analytics plays an increasingly important role in helping your organization achieve its objectives.
Turnitin
TurnItIn is a product that can analyze the content of student assignments for exact or close matches to material found on the web, in scholarly and popular articles and books and other students' essays.
more...less...
While it cannot positive determine whether or not a work was plagiarized, it provides instructors with more information in making that determination on their own. Instructors can use TurnItIn for any and every assignment in their class, or only use it for an individual paper for which they feel a report would be useful. TurnItIn is fully integrated into Canvas; an instructor simply has to choose to enable the service for a specific assignment. A standalone, unintegrated option is available, so instructors can use that if they are only interested in using TurnItIn on a case-by-case basis.